Technical Guide

Before your race, please take a moment to review our technical package for further race details. 

Race Details

You've trained for months, done a race recon, and planned your strategy. You're as prepared as you've ever been, and are ready to take on the best virtual racers in the country. Perfect! Whether this is your first time joining us or you're a seasoned pro, here's what you need to know!

First up, know your start time! Races run every other Thursday, and we are running a staggered start for all of our races. Race start times are:

- U17 Women - 9:00am Pacific, 12:00 Noon Eastern Time

- U17 Men - 9:05am Pacific, 12:05 Eastern Time

- Junior Women - 9:10am Pacific, 12:10 Eastern Time

- Junior Men - 9:15am Pacific, 12:15 Eastern Time

Please attempt to join your event at least 15 minutes before your start. These courses do take some time to load. We recommend giving at least 1 minute for every 10km of course for your race to load. For example, you should give up to 4 minutes for a 40km course to load. Another perk of joining the event early? Getting prime real estate on the start line.

For insurance purposes, riders will need a general membership or a race license issued by their Provincial Sport Organization to register.

Registration closes the Wednesday before the event at 7:00pm Pacific, 10:00pm Eastern Time. Please be sure to register before this deadline so we can send you your RGT registration link.

*Please note, if you remain inactive for more than 10 minutes after joining the event, your phone and screen app will disconnect. Avoid this by doing your warm up on the start line and being prepared ahead of time.

This Week's Course!

July 2nd Route Details

This week the Canadian Junior Virtual Cycling Series goes crit racing! For the first of our phase two events, athletes will compete on the Bowness Road Criterium. This short, technical course will be well known to Calgary crit riders. With a short drag halfway through this 1km circuit, athletes will feel a sting in the legs long before the final sprint. With the constant corners, pack positioning may well triumph over strength alone.

Tactics will be critical in this unique prairie course. Simulated braking will give athletes the chance to save energy in the corners, and frequent twists and turns will make moving up in the pack a challenge that rivals a real life criterium. How will the race pan out? It could be anybody’s race! One thing is for certain, this course promises to be a show-stopper of a Prairie race!